Rally : Sebastian Loeb Is The Greatest

17/11/2011 13:01

Sebastien Loeb can lay claim to be the most successful driver in motorsport history following his capture of his eighth world rally title on Wales Rally GB last week.

Citroen driver Loeb started the WRC season finale equal with Formula One legend Michael Schumacher in terms of FIA world titles won.

But Loeb’s success in Wales means the Frenchman is officially more successful than Schumacher.

“For sure I’m proud to become the most successful driver in motorsport and feel very happy,” said 37-year-old Loeb who has amassed 67 wins from 151 starts in the WRC. “We were equal until this week with Michael Schumacher who had seven - now we have eight. I don’t really want to compare different branches of the sport but it’s very special. I never thought I’d achieve this when I started my career.”

Loeb secured his first WRC crown in 2004, one year after missing out on the title to Petter Solberg by a solitary point. He has not lost out on a single championship since, despite being run close by Ford drivers Marcus Gronholm and Mikko Hirvonen in recent seasons.

And Loeb is already targeting title number nine when he begins a two-year contract extension with Citroen next season.

“We have won eight titles in a row and I can only have the goal to win another title next year,” he said. “There is no precise plan for the day I stop driving - at the moment the next goal is the next title. If I can make it 10 titles I hope I can but I don’t know. I take everything year after year. For now my goal is next year; after that I will see.”

( Source : www.wrc.com/news/its-official-loeb-is-the-greatest/?fid=15804 )